Canada’s Farmed Seafood Policy Conference 2017
Oceans of Opportunity

November 21-22, 2017  I  The Westin Ottawa  I  Ottawa, ON


Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Canadian Farmed Seafood Reception

Tabled in the House! The Finest, Fresh, Farmed Canadian Seafood

5:30–7:30 p.m.


Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Registration & Continental Breakfast

7:30 a.m.


Opening Remarks

Welcome Address
Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard (Invited)

Opening Address: Oceans of Opportunity
Timothy Kennedy, Executive Director, CAIA

8:15 a.m.


Opening Keynote

Amy Novogratz, Managing Partner, Aqua-Spark

9:00 a.m.


9:45 a.m.

Refreshment Break


Panel Presentation: Canada's Role in Seafood Farming Innovation

Moderator: David McInnes Principal, DMci Strategies

• Ian Carr, Strategic Marketing Director, Cargill Aqua Nutrition

• Marvyn Budd, Co-founder and President, Planet Shrimp

• Bjørn Apeland, Chief Executive Officer, Steinsvik Canada Inc.

10:15 a.m.


Panel Presentation: Getting Canadian Seafood to Market

Moderator: Andrew Young, Senior Vice President Global Sales and Marketing, Cooke Aquaculture

• Peter Hall, Vice-President and Chief Economist, Export Development Canada

11:15 a.m.


Luncheon Keynote

Chef Andrew Gruel, Chef, CEO and Founder, Slapfish Restaurant Group

12:15 p.m.


Panel Presentation: Connecting with the Consumer

Moderator: Ian Roberts, Director of Public Affairs, Marine Harvest Canada

• Dr. Richard Jenkins, Vice President, Nanos Research Group

• Randy Doctoroff and Tony Tran, Costco Wholesale Canada, Ltd.

1:30 p.m.


Refreshment Break

2:15 p.m.


Panel Presentation: Local Voices – Canadian Farmed Fresh Seascape

 Moderator: Tim Kennedy, Executive Director, CAIA

• Honourable Gerry Byrne, Minister of Fisheries and Land Resources, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

• Mayor Terry James, Village of Blacks Harbour, New Brunswick

• Bruce J. Morrison, Warden, Municipality of the County of Victoria, Nova Scotia

• Dallas W. Smith, President of the Board, Nanwakolas Council

2:45 p.m.


Closing Remarks

3:45 p.m.