Back to All Events

CAIA Elects New Board of Directors and Officers for 2016-17

Executives from finfish and shellfish farms, regional associations, academia and suppliers will make up the association's board.

OTTAWA, ON – The Canadian Aquaculture Industry Alliance (CAIA) has announced the results of elections held at the 2016 Annual General Meeting on November 30th in Ottawa. CAIA members elected 25 Directors to serve on the Board; then, as its first order of business, the new Board elected the organization's officers for the next year.
"Welcome to our new Board members – we are looking forward to their fresh thoughts and ideas for CAIA programs and activities, including the important work to be done on the National Aquaculture Development Strategy," said Ruth Salmon, CAIA Executive Director.
The new CAIA Board of Directors includes:
Susan Cole, Ontario Aquaculture Association
Cyr Couturier, Marine Institute, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Tillmann Benfey, President, Aquaculture Association of Canada
Terry Drost, Four Links Marketing
Jeremy Dunn, BC Salmon Farmers Association
Terry Ennis, Atlantic Aqua Farms Partnership
Sue Farquharson, Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association
Michael Foti, Phibro Animal Health Corporation
Marta Gameiro, Elanco Canada
Marilyn Hutchinson (Rocky Boschman alternate), Grieg Seafood BC Ltd.
Laurie Jensen (Fernando Villarroel alternate), Cermaq Canada     
Mark Lane, Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association
Rich Moccia, Aquaculture Centre, University of Guelph
Ian Roberts (Vincent Erenst alternate), Marine Harvest Canada
John Rose, Icy Waters Ltd.
Tim Rundle, Creative Salmon Co. Ltd.
Amédée Savoie, Maison BeauSoleil
Tom Smith, Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia
Trevor Stanley, Skretting Canada Inc.
Matt Sullivan, PEI Aquaculture Alliance
Bob Sweeney, Sweeney International Marine Corp
Tom Taylor (Nell Halse alternate), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.           
Kathryn Unger, Cargill Canada
Darlene Winterburn, BC Shellfish Grower's Association
Brian Yip, Fanny Bay Oysters
CAIA’s new Executive Committee Officers are:
President: Cyr Couturier, Marine Institute, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Vice-President: Ian Roberts, Marine Harvest Canada
Treasurer: Tom Taylor, Cooke Aquaculture Inc.
Secretary: Marilyn Hutchinson, Grieg Seafood BC Ltd.
Member-at-large: Sue Farquharson, Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association
Member-at-large: Brian Yip, Fanny Bay Oysters
"Congratulations to the new CAIA Directors. Thanks to the outgoing Directors for their service and contributions, and to my fellow Board members for their expression of confidence in electing me as President and Chair of the Board. I look forward to working with our new Board and our Executive Director in moving this important, responsible Canadian food industry forward for all Canadians," said Couturier.

CAIA is the national association that speaks for Canada’s seafood farmers, representing their interests in Ottawa to regulators, policy makers and political leaders. CAIA activities centre on advocacy for the farm-raised seafood sector in Canada. For more information or to join the organization, visit

For comment or additional information:

Sheri Beaulieu, Communications Officer
Canadian Aquaculture Industry Alliance (CAIA)

Cyr Couturier, President
Canadian Aquaculture Industry Alliance (CAIA)